A classic philosophy

Screen shot 2017-06-24 at 3.11.38 PM.png

When I wax philosophical about film, I try to step out of my own “zone” and see how movies affect others. I look at comments on Facebook; scan tweets about classic stars; and see what members frequently post on TCM’s message boards. I benefit from these different points of view. It’s enriching to interact online and share a collective knowledge about the movies people love.

Screen shot 2017-06-24 at 3.10.23 PM.png

After Robert Osborne passed away earlier this year, I thought about what he said of certain motion pictures, directors, performers and performances. Robert was usually commenting on his own relationship with classic Hollywood. But it can be that personal for anyone.

Screen shot 2017-06-24 at 3.11.54 PM.png

For example, when I re-watched A SIMPLE PLAN recently, I remembered almost everything from the time I first saw it in January 1999. It was meaningful for me. Looking at the film again, I had a new way of relating to it. I must have developed a greater understanding during the past eighteen and a half years. I think all film goes beyond the initial experience if you let it. That’s what makes it

Screen shot 2017-06-24 at 3.18.04 PM.png

Leave a comment